Columbia Assault Lawyer

Assault charges in South Carolina should always be taken seriously as they can result in prison time, fines, and a criminal record which can affect the rest of your life – especially when seeking employment, renting an apartment, or applying for financial or government aid.

If you are facing an assault charge in SC, contact an experienced Columbia assault lawyer to review your situation, discuss the charges against you, and determine what legal defenses are available to you about possibly having those charges dismissed or mitigated through a plea bargain.  If necessary, an experienced attorney will provide an aggressive defense strategy at trial.

How Does South Carolina Define Assault and Battery?

While assault is generally considered the threat of violence and battery is generally considered actual violence (hitting, punching, etc.), South Carolina combines them into essentially four (4) charges. According to SC Code Sec. 16-3-600, these charges which warrant contact with a Columbia assault lawyer consist of:

  • 1st degree assault and battery. This includes situations in which someone either suffers an injury, was the victim of non-consensual touching of the genitals in a lewd manner, or the action occurred during the commission of a theft, robbery, kidnapping, or burglary.

It can also apply to situations in which an assault (without battery or physical contact) was likely to produce death or great bodily harm, or that occurred during the commission of a theft, robbery, kidnapping, or burglary. First-degree assault and battery is considered a felony that may result in significant fines and spending up to 10 years in prison.

  • 2nd-degree assault and battery. This includes situations which result in moderate bodily injury, or could have resulted in moderate bodily injury, requiring medical treatment; or nonconsensual touching of the genitals. Second-degree assault and battery is considered a misdemeanor which may result in significant fines and spending up to three (3) years in prison.
  • 3rd-degree assault and battery. Most commonly referred to as simple assault, this generally includes situations where someone hit or injured someone else and did not cause significant bodily injury – whether intentional or not. Third-degree assault and battery is considered a misdemeanor and may result in fines and spending up to 30 days in prison.
  • Assault and battery of a high and aggravated nature (ABHAN). ABHAN is generally considered the most serious of all assault charges as it involve physical contact (battery), which results in great bodily harm or occurred in a manner which was likely to produce death or great bodily injury – such as the loss of a limb or permanent disfigurement. ABHAN is considered a felony that may result in significant fines and spending up to 20 years in prison.

Assault charges often have numerous legal defenses which may allow an experienced Columbia assault lawyer to plea bargain and have those charges dismissed or mitigated.

While every case is unique and depends on the facts and circumstances of the situation, seeking the advice an assault attorney is always in someone’s best interest.

Contact a Columbia Assault and Battery Attorney Today

South Carolina assault and battery charges can be complex – especially when the parties involved have differing opinions on what really happened during an altercation. That is where an experienced Columbia assault lawyer can be of the most help.

If you are facing an assault charge, have an experienced assault attorney investigate the facts and determine what legal defenses you can possibly have those charges dismissed or mitigated to a reduced charge.