Aiken County Reckless Driving Lawyer

Many people are surprised to learn that reckless driving is considered a criminal offense in the state of South Carolina. SC Code § 56-5-2920 defines reckless driving as driving in a way that displays a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of others or property. Anyone facing such charges should contact an Aiken County reckless driving lawyer to discuss potential legal options.

In many cases, reckless driving may include speeding as well as many other unsafe driving activities. The best decision you can make to get your life back on track is to hire a skilled defense attorney. A lawyer who understands reckless driving cases could advocate on your behalf and help fight the allegation.

Reckless Driving Penalties

In South Carolina, reckless driving is considered a misdemeanor. The charge can result in fines as well as jail time. First offenders face up to 30 days in jail as well as a $25 to $200 fine. Those who are second or repeat offenders within a five-year period can receive a three-month license suspension. Having your license suspended can be devastating.

Our ability to drive around allows us to get to work, provide for our children and maintain an enjoyable quality of life. Allow a reckless driving attorney to fight for you to keep the life you’ve worked hard for and deserve.

Points on Your License

A reckless driving charge adds six demerit points to your driver’s license. If someone has 12 demerit points on their license at any one point in time their license can be suspended. You will want an attorney to work towards getting the charge reduced in an attempt to avoid this.

An accumulation of several points on your license can increase your monthly insurance rates. You can possibly bypass the burden of extra expenses with the assistance of an Aiken County reckless driving attorney.

Severity of Reckless Driving

A reckless driving ticket can involve several factors. Below are examples of behaviors that qualify as reckless driving.

  • Causing a car wreck
  • Speeding
  • Aggressive behaviors
  • Weaving in and out of traffic
  • Improper driving for weather conditions
  • Sleeping while driving
  • Eating, drinking or using a cell phone
  • Driving while intoxicated

In cases where a person receives a reckless driving citation as the result of a car accident because it was not intentional, a lawyer can fight to prove how the accident was unavoidable. Oftentimes an officer cites someone based on the word of another driver who was hit in the accident.

This person has an incentive to lie or exaggerate that your driving was inappropriate. Without any further witnesses, the evidence is weak. A reckless driving lawyer will work within the means of the law to represent you effectively.

Reaching Out to an Aiken County Reckless Driving Attorney

An experienced and aggressive attorney is the first person you should consult before moving forward after being charged with reckless driving. Anyone can make a bad judgment call while driving when given the right circumstances.

An Aiken County reckless driving lawyer has the experience and knowledge to advise you properly. It is important that you have someone in your corner during this difficult time. Work with an attorney that could advocate for you.