Driving Classes in Columbia

In many reckless driving cases, lawyers often recommend a person take a defensive driving course specifically if they know they are being convicted of reckless driving. A reckless driving conviction carries up to six points against someone’s driver’s license and most of the defensive driving courses could get them up to four points back on their license.

Those who have been charged with reckless driving could take a defensive driving course and then take the certificate of completion to the officer and request that they dismiss the case. Unfortunately, it is not a defense or a deferred prosecution that would automatically allow them to have the case dismissed. That is a prosecutor’s decision. There are traffic education programs or commonly referred to as TET, that someone can be referred to, and it is a mitigating factor that can be used to help resolve the case.

If you have been accused of reckless driving, an experienced defense attorney could help. The skilled reckless driving attorney could advise you of your legal options, such as completing driving classes in Columbia to help mitigate the consequences of a conviction.

Where to Take Driving Classes

There are numerous driving classes available in South Carolina. It is generally the same companies that do student driving for permits and restricted driver’s licenses. It is the driving schools that often have Saturday courses where they offer defensive driving. There are several different companies that are easily found on the internet or in the Yellow pages. These companies are all around Columbia, West Columbia, and Lexington County. The classes are affordable and recommended in many cases.

Impact of a Defensive Course

Driving classes in Columbia can help a person’s case because it shows that they are takin preemptive steps to rectify the reckless driving. Additionally, this shows that they have acknowledged or accepted responsibility depending on the timing of when they would take the course. With respect to being able to get four points back on their driver’s license, a class could be very advantageous if they are convicted of reckless driving and just had six points put on their license.

The driving classes can have an impact on the case from the mitigation standpoint as a negotiation tool with the prosecutor by giving reasons why they should reduce the reckless driving charge.

Does Columbia Treat Speeding Differently From Other Jurisdictions?

There are statutes showing a specific penalty if someone was speeding 10 miles or under, 10 to 15 and 15 to 25 and over 25. It all depends on the speed they are going that makes the difference. States have different laws regarding speeding.

South Carolina has its own laws. If someone was driving 45 miles per hour, it does not matter which county they are in, they still technically could be charged with reckless driving.

Let a Reckless Driving Attorney Help

Those who have been charged with reckless driving should seek help from a tenacious defense attorney as soon as possible. They could review the charges and determine if there are any mitigating factors such as driving classes in Columbia.

Speak an attorney to learn more about how a reckless driving attorney could help your case. Schedule a consultation today.